You are here: Home / About Us

Our People

A summary of COTS Investigators.
Principal Investigator: Professor Alwyn Seeds (UCL/LCN)
Professor Alywn Seeds

Professor Alwyn Seeds FREng, FIEEE, is Professor of Optoelectronics and Head of the
Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at UCL. Past Vice-President for Technical Affairs, IEEE Photonics Society (USA), past Chairman of the IET Photonics Professional Network (UK), IEEE Distinguished Lecturer on Microwave Photonics. Founder and former Director of Zinwave Ltd. ERA Fellow. PI on over £9.5m of current grants and contracts including the Cambridge University/UCL EPSRC Doctoral Training Centre in Photonic Systems Development (17 Investigators across 13 Departments at UCL and Cambridge, and over 30 participating companies) and the EU iPHOS grant on THz communications. Previously PI on the EPSRC PRINCE project (19 Investigators across six departments at UCL, Cambridge, Essex and Imperial College, with a complex sub-contract to CIP Ltd). EPSRC Platform Grant holder. RCUK Basic Technology and EPSRC Programme Grant Mentor. Pioneer in the field of Microwave Photonics, see e.g. IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Tech. 50, 877 (2002) cited 199 times. Led the programme to develop the first frequency synthesised THz sources using photonic technology.

Co-Investigator: Dr Cyril Renaud (UCL/LCN)
crenaud.jpg Dr Cyril Renaud is a lecturer in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at UCL leading research on components and systems for THz photonics, where he is the holder of the record for the highest power extracted from a photodetector at 1 THz. He has also worked and studied within some of the most prestigious institutions involved in Photonics in Europe (Institut d’Optique, Ecole Normale Superieur Optoelectronics Research Centre). He is an inventor on 3 patents in photonics. Demonstrated first uni-travelling carrier (UTC) travelling wave THz photodetectors. Recognised for Research Achievement by the Chambre des Commerces et de L'industrie (France). Investigator on over £2.5m of current grants. Developed uni-travelling carrier THz bandwidth photodiodes with record output power.
Co-Investigator: Dr Oleg Mitrofanov (UCL/LCN)
olegm.jpg Royal Society University Research Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Electronic Engineering, UCL. Developed the first THz near-field microscope with sub-10-micron resolution. IEEE/ OSA CLEO TPC member for THz research. PI on over £0.8m of current grants.
Co-Investigator: Professor Sir Michael Pepper FRS, FREng (UCL/LCN)
mpepper.jpg Pender Professor of Nanoelectronics at UCL. Many honorary degrees, named lectures and prizes, including the Royal Society Royal Medal. Cofounder and Scientific Director of TeraView, the world’s leading terahertz company. Played a seminal role in showing that THz technology has important applications in pharmaceutical manufacturing and dissolution. PI on over £4.5m of current/recent grants.
Co-Investigator: Professor Gabriel Aeppli FRS (UCL/LCN)

Founding Director of the £20m London Centre for Nanotechnology (LCN) and Quain Professor of Physics at UCL, with all prior employment in industry. Winner of the IoP Mott Medal, co-recipient of the Neel Medal and APS Oliver Buckley Prize. ERA Fellow. Co-founder and non-executive director of Bio-Nano Consulting and numerous senior advisory positions include STFC Science Board. PI on current EPRSC grants with value of £4.1m. Contributions to THz-domain science include coherent manipulation and detection of donor states in silicon using the NL-UK free electron laser FELIX (Nature 465 1057 (2010)) and UCL lead on the £6m COMPASSS (Coherent Optical and Microwave Physics for Atomic-Scale Spintronics in Silicon) Programme Grant which uses THz/microwave experiments at FELIX to manipulate simultaneously the spin and orbital degrees of freedom of impurities in silicon.

Associate Investigator: Professor Huiyun Liu (UCL/LCN)
hliu.jpg Royal Society University Research Fellow and Profesor of Semiconductor Photonics in UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering.
Co-Investigator: Professor Giles Davies (Leeds)
gdavies.jpg Professor of Electronic and Photonic Engineering, Deputy Head of the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering and Pro-Dean for Research in the Faculty of Engineering, University of Leeds. With Professor Linfield, led the €1.5m EC FPV WANTED project which developed the first THz Quantum Cascade Laser (QCL). Subsequently PI for the €5m EC FPVI TERANOVA project, to develop THz science and applications, and for the RCUK Basic Technology programme to develop hybrid bioelectronic surfaces (EP/C006755, £2.7m). Is PI on a new Centre for Doctoral Training in Basic Technologies for Molecular-Scale engineering (EP/J500124, £2m), and CoI on £11.2m of further EPSRC grants, in addition to an £11m Wellcome Trust/EPSRC Medical Engineering Centre award. Was awarded a five-year individual European Research Council Advanced Grant – ‘New opportunities in terahertz engineering and science (NOTES)’ in 2008 (€1,542,852). Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award (2011).
Co-Invetigator: Professor Edmund Harold Linfield (Leeds)

Professor of Terahertz Electronics and Director of Research in the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Leeds. With Professor Davies led the EC FPV WANTED project which developed the first THz QCL, and subsequently led a £2.9m RCUK Basic Technology programme to develop THz technology. PI on previous Basic Technology translation grant (EP/E048811, £877,472), an EPSRC Critical Mass grant (EP/I000933, £2.7m), and an EPSRC follow-on grant (GR/E048811, £0.9m), and is CoI on a further £7.5m of EPSRC grants. PI for a Home Office grant for Explosives and Weapons Detection (£428,017). In 2010, he received a five-year individual European Research Council Advanced Grant – ‘Terahertz optoelectronics – from the science of cascades to applications (TOSCA)’ (€2,491,989). He has recently been awarded an EPSRC ‘Dream Fellowship’, and was member of the EPSRC’s ‘Cross-Disciplinary Interfaces’ Strategic Advisory Team.

Associate Investigator: Dr Paul Dean (Leeds)
pdean.jpg EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship holder.
Co-Investigator: Professor David Ritchie (Cambridge)
dritchie.jpg Head of the Semiconductor Physics Research Group and Deputy Head of the Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge. Was awarded the IOP Tabor Prize in 2008. His activities include leadership of the MBE research facility at the Cavendish Laboratory: the Group developed the epitaxy that enabled the first THz QCLs and he has published more than 90 papers in the field since then. He is PI on over £4.6m of current/recent grants, including EPSRC grant: EP/H017720/1 (£1.0m).
Outreach Manager: Tim Bodley-Scott (UCL)
tbscott.jpg Tim is responsible for outreach, including business development and marketing. He has previously worked for Imperial College London and Kent County Council in project management, marketing and student support roles